The photographers' collective, FOVEA, is a group of 20 Montreal artists/photographers who operate jointly a collective workspace, darkroom and exhibition room.

Founded in 1998 as a non-profit organization, Fovea had evolved from the Atelier VOX, a collective created in 1985 by the founding members of Vox Populi and having produced, over the years, various photographic exhibits in Montreal and abroad.

Fovea's continuing mission to exhibit photography in public spaces began in 1995 with a series of photographic street posters shown in Montreal (Mois de la Photo 1995 and 1997) and in Scotland (Fotofeis 1997).

The autumn 2001, Fovea presented Villeneneuve Tour. Highlighted within Montréal's Mois de la Photo 2001, thirteen artists invested the shops and environment of the Villeneuve Street neighbourhood, in Montréal, with photographic images and installations.

In January and February 2002, work from Fovea appeared in the interior showcases at the gallery of the Moser Arts Gallery, University of St-Francis, in Joliet, Illinois.

During two years (2003-2005), Fovea developed the project So close / Tout près, exhibited in Rouyn-Noranda (Québec) and Montréal.



Situated in the Belgo building in downtown Montreal, the Fovea studio occupies a 1500 square foot space. It is made up of a central workspace, a darkroom and a film development room. On the premises are two black and white enlargers (one 4x5 archival print washer (up to 20x24), drying racks, a mounting press, and a repro stand. The space is shared with the Guy Mercier Photo Lab, managed by one of the members of the collective, specializing in large format b+w archival printing.

The use of the space and the equipment is reserved for non-commercial photographic practice and production. The artists must submit their projects to the collective.

The renting cost for non-members is : 25$/day — 100$ /week — 200$/month


Nicholas AMBERG; Christine BRAULT; Alain CHAGNON; Susan COOLEN; Catherine COMTOIS; Daniel DIAZ; Mei-Kuei FEU; Nathalie GOSSELIN; Eman HARAM; Danielle HÉBERT; Nancy LAROCQUE; Eileen LEIRE; Steve LEROUX; Guy MERCIER; Gail PASLAWSKI; Michel PATRY; Eva QUINTAS; Maureen RODRIGES-LABRECHE; Ronald T. SIMON; Loren WILLIAMS.